

SUMMARY OF THE PUBLIC BOARD MEETING - September 17, 2021

The Alberta Health Services (AHS) Board met on September 17, 2021 by teleconference. The following is an account of the resolutions approved at the meeting. Minutes of the AHS Board meeting will also be posted once approved. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Board Office at ahs.board@ahs.ca.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

- 1. Q1 2021-22 Investment Report
- 2. Brenda Strafford Foundation Extension
- 3. Health Advisory Council Appointments and Term Renewals
- 4. Appointments of Trustees to Health Foundations
- 5. Alberta Health Services Infection Prevention & Control 2020/21 Annual Report to Alberta Health
- 6. Appointment of External Member

Q1 2021-22 Investment Report

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board ratified the investment portfolio and transactions described below:

- a) as at June 30, 2021, Alberta Health Services held restricted and unrestricted funds managed by Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management and Manulife Financial totaling \$1,588
 Million;
- b) the funds were invested in short term treasury bills, federal, provincial, municipal and corporate fixed income bonds, pooled mortgage funds, bond funds, real estate funds, Canadian and Global equity funds; and
- c) all of the funds invested during the quarter ended June 30, 2021, were invested in accordance with the Investment Bylaw and Investments Policy.

Brenda Strafford Foundation Extension

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved:

- 1. The following amendments to the Brenda Strafford Foundation Amended and Restated Master Services Agreement:
 - a. For services at the existing Tudor Manor in Okotoks:
 - i. to reduce the supportive living spaces by 63 resulting in a total of 89 supportive living spaces; and
 - ii. to add 63 long term care spaces resulting in a total of 63 long term care spaces.
 - b. For services moving from the closing Clifton Manor to the new Clifton House in Calgary:
 - i. to move the existing Specialty Long Term Care spaces from Clifton Manor to the new Clifton House:

- ii. to move the existing Adult Day Program from Clifton Manor to the new Clifton House:
- iii. to add long term care services at the new Clifton House for a total of 103 long term care spaces for a 5 year term;
- iv. to add supportive living services at the new Clifton House for a total of 62 supportive living spaces for a 5 year term; and
- v. to terminate 165 Long Term Care spaces at the old Clifton Manor;

on the terms and conditions reviewed by the Finance Committee, with such non-substantive changes that management of Alberta Health Services considers necessary or advisable; and

2. delegate the authority to the Alberta Health Services President and CEO to execute the agreement to effect such amendments referred to above on behalf of Alberta Health Services in accordance with the *Delegation of Authority and Establishment of Controls for Commitments* Policy.

Health Advisory Council Appointments and Term Renewals

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved appointments of members to the Advisory Councils for the terms as follows:

Health Advisory Council Reappointments – for a Three-Year Term – effective October 1, 2021		
to September 30, 2024		
Health Advisory Council	Name	
David Thompson Health Advisory Council	Geraldine (Gerry) Greschner	
Peace Health Advisory Council	Krista Schuett	
Prairie Mountain Health Advisory Council	Joyce McCoy	
Wood Buffalo Health Advisory Council	Natalie Castro-Gentili Evelyn Okoh Patience Akenbor	
Yellowhead East Health Advisory Council	Cyndy Heslin	
Health Advisory Council Appointments – for a Three-Year Term – effective October 1, 2021 to		
September 30, 2024		
Health Advisory Council	Name	
Greater Edmonton Health Advisory Council	Dakarai Mhlanga	
Oldman River Health Advisory Council	Anne Michaelis Colleen Bianchi David Anderson	
Palliser Triangle Health Advisory Council	Janine Tolhurst Rachel Vossen Jeanette Devore Gop Majak	
Peace Health Advisory Council	Kirti Sharma	
Prairie Mountain Health Advisory Council	Lea Caplan	
Wood Buffalo Health Advisory Council	Tumi Okonkwo	

Appointments of Trustees to Health Foundations

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the appointments and reappointments of Trustees to Health Foundations for the terms as follows:

Trustee Reappointments and Appointments – for Two and Three Year Terms	
Foundation	Name
Airdrie Health Foundation	Jody Cunningham – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
	Vitesh Sheopershad – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Alberta Cancer Foundation	Billy Morin – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Bassano & District Health Foundation	Irene Chauvet-Henry – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Calgary Health Foundation	Bruce Edgelow – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024 Sarah Hall – effective September 29, 2021 to September 28, 2024 Bonnie Healy – effective September 29, 2021 to September 28, 2024 Kathy Hnatiuk – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024 Lesley Hutcheson – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024 Sarah Kennedy – effective October 1, 2021 to September 13, 2024 Alice Lam – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024 Eda Libin – effective September 29, 2021 to September 28, 2024 Mark Owerko – effective September 29, 2021 to September 28, 2024 Peggy Perry – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024 David Rouledge – effective October 1, 2021 to January 14, 2023
Fort Saskatchewan Community Health Foundation	Joan Bakke – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Lac La Biche Regional Health Foundation	Claudia Theroux – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Oyen and District Health Foundation	Lynda Grudecki – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024
Strathcona Community Hospital Foundation	Garry Stevenson – effective October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2024

Vulcan County Health & Wellness Foundation	Shilo Andrews-Brauer - effective October 1, 2021
	to September 30, 2024
	Darian Ashbacher - effective October 1, 2021 to
	September 30, 2024
	Lorelei Bexte - effective October 1, 2021 to
	September 30, 2024
	Toni Lynn Garlock - effective October 1, 2021 to
	September 30, 2024
	James Hendry - effective October 1, 2021 to
	September 30, 2024

Alberta Health Services Infection Prevention & Control 2020/21 Annual Report to Alberta Health

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the Alberta Health Services Infection Prevention and Control 2020/21 Annual Report to Alberta Health. The AHS Board Chair will submit the Annual Report to Alberta Health.

Appointment of External Member

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the appointment of external member, Dr. William Ghali, to the Quality & Safety Committee for a term of two years commencing October 1, 2021.

_____/s/
Catherine MacNeill
Corporate Secretary & Legal Counsel